MyWetloook

Message # 5811.4

Subject: Hello Not sure you should be blaming the card companies

Date: Wed 10/09/03 12:00:17 GMT

Name: RM us

Email:

Report Abuse or Problem to Nigel at Minxmovies
If you enjoy this forum, then please make a small donation to help
with running costs: Make Donation (you can change amount)

Previous Reply
Next New Message
Active List Archive

I'm an programmer for a large company and I help support one of it's software applications that allow credit card payments.  It's my understanding that companies like Visa, MC and AMEX have nothing to do with how their cards are used.  The cards are issued by banks or other financial institutions who pay the selling merchants and bill the cardholders.   When you have a merchant authorize your card for a purchase they are contacting a clearinghouse for this transaction.  The clearing house, and I suspect Paypal is one of these clearinghouses, is set up to validate the authorization requests with the issuing banks to find out of the card is valid and there is enough room on it for the purchase.  If the bank clears the purchase the clearinghouse may still deny the authorization for any number of reasons such as it's in a currency they do not support or from an off limits country.  Clearing houses are not household corporate names and there aren't that many of them but they do hold some power over electronic credit card use.  
In reply to Message (5811) Note How Visa/MasterCard want to 'protect' us - A bit of a rant, but relevant :(

By Nigel - nigel@wetlook.com gb Wed 10/09/03 00:03:43 GMT

As you may have realised, us producers are having a harder and harder time having credit card orders processed.  Although we all like to give stuff away for free, and we are only really in the WAM game because we love it so much, we do try to recoup some of our expenditure.