minx

Wetlook World Forum

Current time: Tue 23/04/24 08:15:56 GMT

Translate page FROM gb -> TO de fr it nl es pt jp

Translate page TO gb <- FROM de fr it nl es pt jp

Wetlook-Online
Wetlook-Online

Message # 35969.2

Subject: Hello Re: Fountain water: dangerous?

Date: Sat 07/06/08 14:22:43 GMT

Name: AnthonyX ca

Email: anthonyx@jowc.net

Report Abuse or Problem to Nigel at Minxmovies
If you enjoy this forum, then please make a small donation to help
with running costs: Make Donation (you can change amount)

Previous Reply
Next New Message
Active List Archive

I'm no expert on the subject, but here are a few things which come to my mind:

Fountains might be for any or all of several purposes: something nice to look at, something for people to splash around in, and sometimes, part of a building's cooling system.

If a fountain is intended for people to splash around in (like those sidewalk fountains people can stroll through), I think one could assume the water will be safe - clean and not overly chlorinated.

If a fountain is being used as part of a cooling system, I think one can assume the water won't be contaminated, but could be heavily treated with chlorine or other chemicals. Unlikely to be a health hazard - it is after all open to the environment.However, whatever is in the water could be more of an irritant than you'd find in a swimming pool.

Fountains "just for show" could have anything in the water. Obviously, the water has to be treated/filtered to keep the pumps etc. from clogging up, but beyond that, there's no way to be sure what may be lurking.

It's a certainty that public outdoor fountains are going to be contaminated by people, pets, urban wildlife, and whatever the winds might carry. It doesn't surprise me that they would be more heavily chlorinated than a swimming pool.