minx

Wetlook World Forum

Current time: Tue 16/04/24 09:44:57 GMT

Translate page FROM gb -> TO de fr it nl es pt jp

Translate page TO gb <- FROM de fr it nl es pt jp

Wetlook.Biz
Wetlook-Online

Message # 14083.1.1.1

Subject: Hello Re: Re: Re: Just to let y'all know....(and slightly off-topic)

Date: Wed 12/01/05 07:13:05 GMT

Name: RoscoeBC us

Email:

Report Abuse or Problem to Nigel at Minxmovies
If you enjoy this forum, then please make a small donation to help
with running costs: Make Donation (you can change amount)

Previous Reply
Next New Message
Active List Archive

Wetlook-Online
I think WD is right on, he said it as well as I could have.  I make my living from the 7 web stores I've got out there, so this issue is key to me eating regularly in the future :).  A couple years ago, you could blow off everyone not using IE.  Since IE is so popular, it's THE target for hackers looking for a way in.  It's strength, it's popularity, by definition is also it's weakness.  People are moving to other browsers, Firefox being most popular right now I believe, and I wouldn't be surprised if Linux gains market share, and those people won't be using IE.  Personally I hope people continue to diversify, as that is what drives product improvement and improves security.  The bottom line is, if you want to be viewable for the next few years anyway, you've got to create the site to the least common denominator as far as standards are concerned, and test the site in multiple browsers.  It's an ongoing chore when you have about 6,000 pages published like I have.  If you use Front Page, you can configure it for a set of standards to restrict it's code to, which helps.  
In reply to Message (14083.1.1) Happy Re: Re: Just to let y'all know....(and slightly off-topic)

By WETINRED - stekz@cableone.net us Wed 12/01/05 04:11:18 GMT